« السابقةمتابعة »
of the marquis of Buckingham: Mr. Banks had also begun à statue of Cupid, four feet and an half high; this be brought to London on his return in 1779, and finished in 1780. Being otherwise unemployed, he embarked with this specimen of his vast abilities for St. Petersburgh in June 1781, in which city he arrived in August following. He was noticed and patronized by the earl of Malmsbury, and prince Potemkin, who, upon seeing the Cupid, recommended it to the empress Catharine, by whom it was purchased for four thousand roubles (about 3008. sterling) and placed in a building called The Grotto, in the gardens at Czarsco-Zelo. Having remained a year in the Russian mctropolis, during which he bad executed a capital model for a statue of the empress, for prince Potemkin, Mr. Banks returned to London ia 1782, and was employed by Mrs. Newton to construct a monument for her deceased lord, the bishop of Bristol, now in Bow church, Cheapside ; another to the memory of Mrs. Hand, in Cripplegate church; and that fine model of excellence, the monument in Westminster Abbey, to the memory of Sir Eyre Coote, at the ex. pence of the East India Company.
Those patrons of the sciences and literature, the BoYDELLS, perceived and acknowledged the eminent abilities of Mr. Banks, by appointing him to adorn the Shakespeare Gallery, the alto-relievo of which exhibited a grand specimen, and “ a proud example of British art.”
The monuments in St. Paul's cathedral, the medallions in the Bank, placed at the instigation of Mr. Soane, and other efforts of Mr. Banks's comprehensive genius, are striking proofs that though Great Britain may be of a cold climate, yet she is prolific in great men, in the sciences, the arts, eloquence, and the other requisites to substantiate her right to classic eminence; without recurring to a long list, we shall content ourselves with the recollection of Reynolds, Barry; Banks, Bacon ; Pitt, Burke, and Fox.
Mr. Banks died on the 5th of February, 1805, aged sixty-seven, leaving behind him the character of a dignified artist and worthy man,
Lambeth, Lambeth, by means of archbishop Walter, obtained the grant of a market and fair, from king John, so that they were not prejudicial to the interests of the city of London. The citizens gave their consent, provided the fair commenced on the morrow of St. Peter ad vincula, and continded only fifteen days. Both are now discontinued.
Respecting the foundation of the collegiate church in this parish, mcntioned at the commencement of this article, it appears that archbishop Baldwin having failed in establish ing a religious foundation at Hackyngton, removed it to Lambeth. The monks, his opponents, being dissatisfied, removed their application to the court of Rome, with such power, that his successor, archbishop Walter, was compelled, by a popish mandate, to level the whole with the ground, though it had been actually built and inhabited, and though it had received the sanction and approbation of the king, nobility, and prelacy of England. This took place in 1199.
The site was granted by the archbishop to Gilbert de Glanville, bishop of Rochester, for a residence for him and he his successors in the see of Rochester, who made it their pa- Plates lace till the sixteenth century *.
At this time the building was denominated La Place, and was seized into the hands of Henry VIII. who granted it to Robert Aldridge, bishop of Carlisle, as a town residence for him and his successors, hence it took the name of CARLISLE House. It does not appear to have been inhabited by the prelates of that see, as they leased it out. It was sold in 1687 to one Matthew Hardy, for 2201. Afterwards it was a pottery, a tavern, and a common brothel. Mr. Froment, an eminent dancing master, then took it før the purpose of converting it to a place of publie entertain
*“ In bishop Fisher's time a most execrable murder was committed bere by a cook; who, by throwing poison into a vessel of yeast, not only destroyed seventeen persons of the bishop's household, but some poor persons who were fed at the gate, for which horrid deed he was boiled to death in Smithfield, in consequence of a law made for that purpose."Lysons.
ment, but without success. After many vicissitudes the premises were converted into an academy for the education of young gentlemen, as it still continues. Some of the antient wall surrounds the premises.
NORFOLK Row stands on the site of the premises which constituted the residence of the dukes of Norfolk, and came afterwards by purchase to Mr. Parker, lady of the archbishop, who resided in it till her death.
In Fore Street was formerly a palace belonging to the bishops of Hereford, since converted to a pottery.
Walcot Place is so called from Mr. Edmund Walcot, who gave the ground on which it stands as a benefaction to the parish; at the time of the grant it was valued at 261. and lately at 841, 10s. per annum.
In LAMBETH WALK was a place of public entertainment, called Lambeth Wells. It was at first opened on account of its mineral water, which was sold at one penny per quart. The music commenced at seven o'clock in the morning, and the price of admission was threepence. A monthly con. cert, under the direction of Mr. Goodwin, organist of St. Saviour's, was afterwards held here; and Erasmus King, who had been coachman to Dr. Desaguliers, read lectures, and exhibited experiments in natural philosophy, the admission being raised to sixpence. A penny wedding of the Scotch fashion, for the benefit of the young couple, was advertised to be kept here in 1752; but the wells, at length becoming a public nuisance, the premises were shut up, and ultimately let as a methodist meeting house.
A continuation of Lambeth Walk is denominated VAUXHALL Walk, leading to FaUKESHALL, corruptedly called VAUXHALL.
In a record of the reign of Edward I. Faukeshall is said to contain twenty-nine acres of meadow, valued at three shillings an acre; and eighty acres of arable land, at fourpence an acre. It probably received its name from Foukes de Brent, who, having married Margaret de Ripariis, became possessed of the manor of South Lambeth, to which, according to antient records, this place originally belonged.
The manor was granted by Edward II. to Roger Damorie, and, upon his attainder for joining the barons against his sovereign, Faukeshall was granted to Hugh le Despencer. Upon his execution, in 1326, the manor was restored to the widow of Roger Damorie, who gave it to Edward III, in exchange for lands in Suffolk; that monarch granted it to his son Edward the Black Prince, who gave it to the church of Canterbury; when Henry VIII. dissolved it as a monastery, he transferred this estate to the dean and chapter, to whom it now belongs.
It seems that near the Thames had been a large mansion which belonged to Sir Thomas Parry, chancellor of the duchy of Lancaster, and held of the manor of Kennington, and in which lady Arabella Stuart suffered twelve years imprisonment under Sir Thomas's custody, merely on account of ber near alliance to the crown, which had excited the jealousy: this house in 1615, was called Copy Hall, and is described as being opposite to a capital mansion called Fauxe Hall, which having probably fallen to decay, or been pulled down, its name was transferred to its opposite neighbour, of which a survey was taken by order of parliament, after the death of Charles I. where it is described as “a capital messuage called Vauxhall, alias Copped Hall, bounded by the Thames; being a fair dwelling house, strongly built of three stories high, and a fair stair-case breaking out from it nineteen feet square.” It had been surrendered to the crown in 1629 by John Abraball, the tenant, and heir of Sir Thomas Parry; and was then identified as Vauxhall only. The parliament in 1652 determined that it should be sold, and the purchaser was John Trenchard, of Westminster. It was leased, after the Restoration, to Henry lord Moore, afterwards earl of Drogheda, for thirty-one years, with the proviso that if the king “ should think fit to appropriate any part of it to his own use, it should be surrendered upon proper allowance.” An advantage was made of the proviso in the course of the ensuing year, and it was occupied by Jasper Calthoff, a Dutchman, who was appointed to cast guns and to furnish
warlike implements for the public service. Part of Vaux, hall afterwards was in the occupation of Peter Jacobson, a sugar baker. The ingenious and eccentric mechanić, Sir Samuel Morland, having obtained a lease of the premises in 1675, made Vauxhall his residence, and considerably improved it; and agreeably to his fancy, every apartment exhibited specimens of his invention ; " the side table in the dining room was supplied with a large fountain, and the glasses stood under little streams of water. His coach had a moveable kitchen, with clock-work machinery, with which he could make soup, broil steaks, or roast a joint of meat; and when he travelled he was his own cook.”
Vauxhall was in 1725 granted to a distiller, named Kent, for twenty-eight years. It was afterwards in the occupa, tion of Sir Joseph Mawbey, bart. many years knight of the shire for the county of Surrey, and is still held by under. tenants, as a distillery *
SPRING GARDENS, or, as they are commonly called, VAUXHALL GARDENS, were in the year 1615, the property of Mrs. Jane, widow of John Vaux; and the mansion was then called Stockdens. Mrs. Vaux left two daughters, one of whom married Dr. Barlow, bishop of Lincoln; and the moities of this estate, which were divided betwixt them, passed through several possessors till the year 1752. In the reign of queen Anne it appears to bave been a place of great public resort; for in the Spectator, No. 383, dated May 20, 1712, Mr. Addison has introduced his favourite character, Sir Roger de Coverley, as accompanying him in
* Mr. Lysons informs us that “there does not appear the least ground for the tradition that Vauxhall, or Fauxhall, was the residence of Guy Faukes, except the coincidence of names. Jane Vaux, or Faukes, mentioned in the History of Lambeth, as holding a copyhold tenement at Vauxhall in the year 1615, was the widow of John Vaux. The infamous Guy was a man of desperate fortune, and not likely to have a settled habitation any where, much less in a capital mansion. It appears, ,however, that the conspirators of the detestable plot in which he was concerned, held their meetings in Lambeth, at a private house, which was burnt down by accident in the year 1635.”—Environs of London. I.