« السابقةمتابعة »
The Church, dedicated to St. Nicholas, is a rectory ia the deanery of Southwark. There was a church here at the Conquest, as appears by Domesday Book. The church of Totinges was given to the monastery of St. Mary Overree, and so recorded in Dugdale's Monasticon. It is a small structure, having on the north side a low circular tower, with a small spire Among the monuments are some to the memory of lady Bateman, 1709. Sir John Hepdon, envoy to Russia, 1670. Samuel Plumbe, Esq. alderman and mayor of London, died in 1784. Dr. Lisle, bishop of Norwich, in 171-8, was instituted to this rectory "i1720. ;. 1/ •
The lords North and Grey had formerly a seat in this parish.
The road to the south leads to Mitcham. This parish is situated about nine miles from London, and is supposed to contain between two and three thousand acres; rhe chief produce of which is peppermint, lavender, physical herbs, and corn. A beautiful stream culled the Wandle, remarkable for the pnreness and transparency of its water, passes through it; upon which are mills for grinding corn, tobacco, logwood, &c.: and on the banks are some very convenient and pleasant grounds, for the purpose of bleaching and printing callico, which are supplied with water by thetame river. Upon one of these premises is a simple and obvious invention, Ro engine in case of fire, the pumps worked by the same wheel used in the business.
On the entrance into Mitcham from Sutton is a villa, called Mitcham Grove, in the possession of Henry Hoare, Esq, It was formerly the residence of lord Loughborough. The river Wandle, which is an excellent trout stream, forms a canal through the gardens.
The Church is an antient building; but the inside is handsome and commodious: it consists of a centre and two side aisles, with a gallery at the west end, and a chancel at the east. The date of its erection is not easily ascertained; but it appears by a memorandum on a pane of glass taken from one of the windows in the archbishop's palace, at