« السابقةمتابعة »
which it is ornamented, and its style of architecture, each adding support to the conjecture. There seems to be no satisfactory evidence to shew when the chapel was built. It appears to have been repaired and ornamented by archbishops Laud and Juxob. Several large sums of money have been expended on the palace by the succeeding prelates, particularly by archbishop Wake, who built tho great gallery; and archbishop Herring, by whom the whole was completely fitted up and repaired. The materials in the survey of 1646, were valued at 1200?. In the year 1780, the palace not having been inhabited for above twenty years, was become much out of repair, in consequence of which an act of parliament was obtained for disposing of it by sale, and vesting the produce in the funds, towards building of a new palace upon Park Hill, about half a mile from the town. It was sold under this act October 10, 1780, to Sir Abraham Pitches, knt. for 2520/. It is now let to tenants, who carry on the callico printing manufactory upon the spot; the garden is used as a bleaching ground.
"The inhabitants of Croydon have obtained the use of the chapel as a Sunday school."
Croydon Church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, is esteemed one of the largest and most handsome structures in the county; it is built of stone and flint, and consists of a nave, two aisles, and three chancels T a handsome tower, containing eight fine bells, and ornamented with four pinnacles and crockets. The church appears to have been rebuilt in the time of archbishop Chichele; it suffered great injury by wind, in 1639, and by fire in 1735; but having lately undergone many repairs and improvements, it is at present a very spacious and commodious building. In the chancel are some antient stalls.
Among the monuments arc those of archbishop GriwDall, who is represented lying at full length, in the habiliments of a doctor in divinity; archbishop WhitgiFt, in his robes; archbishop Sheldon, a fine piece of sculpture;
archbishop Wake, and archbishop Herring. There is also among other memorials an antient Gothic tomb, supposed to be to the memory of one of the Wareham family; these had labels, in brass, which, as well other ornaments, were torn away during the Civil Wars, when one Bleese was hired, at 2s. 6d. per day, to break the painted glass in the windows.
In Croydon church was buried Barclay, the poet, author of The Ship of Fools, &c. A capital drgan has, within a few years, been placed in the gallery. Besides the parish church, here was a chantry. At present various bodies of Dissenters have their meeting houses. The Fishmongers Company of London, founded a Free Schdol in this town; and lately were erecteil barracks for the accommodation of five troops of cavalry.'
In the neighbourhood is Addiscombe Place, a handsome seat, the residence of the earl of Liverpool. His lordship has not only beautified the house, but greatly improved the plantations. On the east front of the house is this inscription in Koman capitals: "Non faciam vitio culpave minorem—1 will not reduce the estate by any vice or folly of mine." .'
Haling House and park, were the property of Charles Howard, lord high admiral in the reign of Elizabeth, who held it by a lease from the crown, and died here in 1624. The fine grove in the park contains a great number of exotics and evergreens; a circumstance which is thus ct> Jebrated by the late William Whitehead, in a poem, entitled, "Answer to an Epistle from a Grove in Derbyshire to a Grove in Surrey.'* It belongs at present to William Parker Hamond, Esq.
In the parish is the mansion of Mrs. Elizabeth Panton, . and the villas belonging to Christopher Taddy, Esq. and lady Blunt; John Brickwood, Esq. the Hon. Mrs. Walpole, Joseph Leeds, Esq. Sir John Bridger, and Thomas Walker, Esq. About a mile from the town, in the road to Addington, is a large cbalk pit, producing extraneous fossils.
Vol. V. No. 114. Rt Addington,
ADmNGToN.is a village, three miles to the east of Croydoff, at the foot of a range of hills, to which it gives the name of Addington Common. On the brow of the hiU, toward the village, is a cluster of small tumuli, about twenty-five in number, and in them have been found Roman urns, &c. Iti this parish is Addington Place, a handsome seat, lately the property of James Trecothick, Esq. It is held by a tenure of making his majesty a mess of pottage at his coronation. The origin of this tenure is from Tezelin, the Conqueror's cook, holding a carucate in Addington, by the service of cooking up in an earthen platter, a mess denominated Maupugernon*, in the king's kitchen, at the time of his coronation.
The present archbishop of Canterbury, Dr. Sutton, in 1807, bought Addington Place, with the money which resulted from the sale of the archiepiscopal palace, at Croydon, by archbishop Cornwallis, with the addition of some delapidations in the time of archbishop Seeker, which have been vested in the funds for that purpose. <
It appears that the Knights Templars had a manor in this parish, which, on their disgrace, was transferred to the knights of St. John of Jerusalem. This, with another manor belonging to St. Mary Overy, at the dissolution of monasteries, passed to the family of Leigh, and ultimately to that of Trecothick.
The Church, dedicated to St. Mary, is a very small structure, partly rebuilt about the reign of Edward III. It contains several memorials of the families of Leigh, Hatteclvffe, and Cole; besides a large marble urn, and an inscribed tablet to the memory of Barlow Trecothick, Esq. alderman, and lord mayor of London in 1770, and one of the members of parliament for that city; he died in 1775.
* Jt is supposed by Mr. Lyspns, that the dish abovementiqned might be the same as that called a Bafdolf, more especially as the family of Bardolf were lords of this place; it was called -a pottage, and consisted of almond milk, the brawn of Capons, sugar and spices, chicken parboiled and chopped, &c. See p. 466, of Household Establishments, 4to. published by the Society of Antiquaries.