« السابقةمتابعة »
dominiis dominicis [
] plenius contentis in predicto scripto inter prefatos Priorem et conventum et d[
] ad terminum contentum in eodem. Quod quidem scriptum simul (cum scriptis
] et totum jus meum quod habui in firma predicta eidem dedi et [concessi
] scripto sigillum meum apposui. Datum Dublin xv die Februarii an [
Title. NCCLESIE.—This foundation is occasionally called, in the preceding documents, Domus, Conventus and Prioratus; but its more common title is Ecclesia.
Page 1, line 1. Gregorius.-Gregory the Ninth, Pope from March 1227 to August 1241. The terms of this Bull are the same as those used by this Pope in a Bull of the year 1234, to the abbey of Dumfermline. See Registrum de Dumfermlyn, p. 175.
Page 2, line 6. Sancti Georgii.-As neither the church of St. George, the messuage near the church of St. Stephen, the Insula Sancti Salvatoris de Glindelacha, nor the forty acres “in territorio de Donenachbroc,” are mentioned in Urban’s Bull (p. 4), it is probable that they were granted between the year 1186, the date of that Bull and 1234, when they were confirmed by Gregory the Ninth. The parish churches of St. Paul and St. George were united to the priory of this house.-Alan's Registry, p. 350, Trinity College copy
Page 2, line 8.
Page 2, line 9.
Page 2, line 9.
in the County of Kildare, of which Maurice Fitz Gerald had unjustly disseised David late prior; the prior did not succeed in his suit, but was “in misericordia pro falso clamore;" his fine, however, was excused quia pauper. R. Pl. B. T. No. 88. Ed. II. (n. 97). Although in 1318 the present County of Wicklow formed part of the County of Dublin; the bounds of counties were not then so well defined as to make it impossible that Kiladreenan should have been counted in Kildare.
Page 2, line 9. De Cnoclislenn.-Lissan hill ? near Dublin.
Page 2, line 1o. De Canturg, now Clonturk, near Dublin.
Page 2, line 10. De Duncernac, now Donnycarney, near Dublin. Here was one of the churches founded by St. Patrick in Campo Breg. Tirechan, quoted in Petrie's Round Towers, p. 141.
Page 2, line 10. De Riboannan.—The present name of this place has not been ascertained. At the time the Registry was written there must have been some established mode of writing the names of the great holdings of the priory; and we can only account for the great diversity of form under which they appear in it, by ascribing it to the accuracy of the transcriber, and his unwillingness to alter the erroneous or obsolete spelling of the original documents.
Page 2, line 11. Insulam Sancti Salvatoris de Glindelacha.—Alan's Registry, as quoted in King's Collectanea de Rebus Hibernicis, p. 285, says: “H. Archiepiscopus Dublin confirmavit ecclesie Omnium Sanctorum Dublin ecclesiam Sancti Salvatoris de Glendelach, alii volunt (quod) per Fulconem de Sandford concessa erat.” As it is not mentioned in Urban's Bull, it must have been granted between 1186 and 1234; and was probably granted by Henry de Loundres, Archbishop from 1213 to 1228, in whose episcopate the see of Glendalach was united with that of Dublin. By an inquisition at Newcastle, 30th August, 1604, it was found that the monastery or priory of All Saints, near Dublin, was seised, inter alia, of diverse messuages, with 1000 acres of arable lands, 700 acres pasture, 100 acres wood, and 200 acres moor, with their purtenances, “in cella Silve Salvatoris et Glanlorkan in Glandalaghe,” and in the towns of Ballyardgowle, Ballyliske, and Ballinluge.--Ing. Dublin, Jac. I. 5.
Page 2, line 12.
Page 2, line 13
Page 2, line 19. Liberos et absolutos.-The distinction between the freeman and the villein was maintained by the Church ; and none but freeborn or enfranchised men were admissible into religious foundations. It would seem, however, that a more benignant and liberal practice made its way, and that the nobles, who thereby lost the services of their villeins, were induced to enact laws against the admission of serfs or natives into holy orders. The 16th Article of the Constitutions of Clarendon (1164), asserts that, “Filii rusticorum non debent ordinari absque assensu domini de cujus terra nati esse dinoscuntur.” And in the 14th clause of the Statute of Kilkenny, for the publication of which the antiquary and the historian are deeply indebted to Mr. Hardiman, it is enacted: “Que nul prelatz de St. Esglise recoievent nulle neoyff (i. e. native or villain, see Blackstone, book ii. c. 6) as ascuns orders sanz assent et tesmoinnage de son seignior faiet a luy sur son seale.” In the life of Robert Betun, Bishop of Hereford, from 1131 to 1148 it is said: “ Ordinationes clericorum exquisitissime faciebat ... Gyravagos, acephalos, notabiles, alienos, servos penitus refutabat. Clericulos nisi provectiores et libertatis testimonium habentes, quibusque in ecclesia locus et victus provisus fuisset, coronare devitabat.”—Anglia Sacra, vol. ii. p. 310.
Page 2, line 22. Arcioris religionis obtentu.-A dispute between the Dominicans and the Franciscans, as to which was ordo arctior et superior, to which members of the other might transmigrate, is recorded by Matt. Paris, no friend to either order, at the year 1243. Watt's Ed. p. 540.
Page 2, line 25 Interdictum.—The following record, taken from Alan's Reg. p. 410, Trinity College copy, refers to an Interdict laid on the City of Dublin by Archbishop Fulk de Saunford, in the year 1267:
“ Octobonus miseracione divina Sancti Adriani Cardinalis Apostolice sedis Legatus venerabilibus in Christo patribus Lismorensi et Waterfordensi episcopis salutem in salutis auctore. Horrendam nimis piis sensibus auribusque nostris valde molestam venerabilis in Christo pater Dublin Archiepiscopus exhibuit questionem quod licet proventus ecclesiarum civitatis Dublin in oblacionibus fidelium pro majori parte con