صور الصفحة
PDF
النشر الإلكتروني

Sanctissime Trinitatis regularis Abbas et Sancti Patricii Episcopus.”_Lib. Niger, quoted in D'Alton's Archbishops of Dublin, p. 84

Page 6, line 28. Medietate decime (decimarum?) molendini.—The tithes of the mill were the tithes of the profits of the mill, consisting of a fixed proportion of the corn ground in it.

Page 6, line 31. Stahto, now Taghadoe, or Taptoo, in the barony of North Salt, County of Kildare.

Page 7, line 1.
Rahtmaneht, now Rathmacknee, in the barony of Forth, county of Wexford.

Page 7, line 2. Rath, Perhaps Rathbarry, in the diocese of Ross?

Page 7, line 2. Arnegeth.Perhaps Grangegeeth, in the diocese of Meath. Mindensi, by a not uncommon mistake, is written for Midensi. These parishes of Rath and Arnegeth were not in the possession of the priory at the time of the Dissolution.

Page 7, line 8. Balihoneron.—Perhaps Ballyornan, in the parish of Powerscourt, County of Wicklow. Vil de Ballynornan, in Glancapp, is mentioned amongst the lands held by the O'Tooles and others from Sir R. Wingfield, as of his manor of Powerscourt, in an Inquis. Wicklow, 8 Jac. I.

Page 7, line 8. Insulam Sancti Salvatoris.- Probably now called the Priory of St. Saviour. See Mon. Hib. p.775, and Ledwich Antiq. p. 176.

Page 7, line 31. Capellam seu oratorium.—The twelfth canon of Archbishop Comyn's Synod, held about 1186, prohibits the celebration of divine service in chapels built by laymen to the detriment of the mother churches.Harr. Ware's Bishops, p. 317.

Page 7, line 32. Indebitas exactiones.—For some of these undue exactions of Bishops and ecclesiastical officers, their “extorsiones, tallagia, auxilia, et hospitiorum visitationes," see De Statu Menevensis Ecclesiæ in Ang. Sac. ii. pp. 532, 533. IRISH ARCH. SOC. 1O.

Q

Page

Page 7, line 34 . Sepulturam.—See Archbishop Comyn's Canons, No. 11. Harr. Ware's Bps. p. 316.

Page 8, line 15. Hominem temere capere.—Did these words confer immunity from legal arrest within the bounds of their places and granges — locorum seu grangiarum ? It is said to have been one of the oldest laws of the British Church, “ut civitates et templa Deorum, viæ ad illa ducentes, ac aratra colonorum immunitate confugii congauderent, ut quicunque fugitivus sive reus ad ea confugeret cum venia coram inimico suo abiret.”-Hist. Mag. Winton, in Anglia Sacra, vol. i. p. 182.

Page 9, line 1. Datum Latranen.—Taking the year 1276, and the Indiction, which tally, the fourteenth kalend of June was the first and not the third year of Innocent the Fifth.

Page 9, line 7. Innocencius.Probably Innocent the Third, Pope from 1198 to 1216. The list of possessions here confirmed is very short, and the Island of St. Saviour's, which is mentioned in Pope Gregory's Bull of 1234, is not included amongst them.

Page 9, line 22. Innocencius.—Probably Innocent the Fourth, who resided frequently at Lyons. He was Pope from 1243 to 1254.

Page 10, line 12. Martinus.-Martin the Fourth, Pope from 1281 to 1285.

Page 12, line 7. VIII.This confirmation is in the Charter Rolls in the Tower of London, 22 Ed. III. n. 2.

It is there said to have been by writ under the privy seal, and for a fine of 208. paid into the Hanaper.

Page 13, line 21. Dele [et T. de].

Page 15, line 3 Willelmi Marescalli.— This charter must have been granted before 1276, in which year

the church of Rathmacknee was confirmed to this Priory by Innocent the Fifth.

See p: 7

Page 15, line 7 Willelmi Siwird.—Perhaps intended for Willelmi Senioris; William the Elder, Earl of Pembroke.

Page

Page 15, line 16.
Ade episcopi Fernensis.-Adam de Northampton, Bishop from 1312 to 1346.

Page 15, line 23.
Hugonis episcopi.-Hugh de Lamport, Bishop of Ferns from 1258 to 1282.

Page 16, line 15. J. Fernensis (lege Fernensi) episcopo.—John St. John, Bishop of Ferns from 1223

to 1243

The pa

Page 16, line 27. Laderachbrim.By the following decree, Archbishop Luke erected the church of Laraghbrien (Maynooth) into a prebend of the Cathedral of St. Patrick. tronage of this prebend is still possessed by the Duke of Leinster, the representative of Maurice Fitz-Gerald :

“ Omnibus Christi Fidelibus ad quos presens scriptum pervenerit Lucas Dei Gratia Dublin Archiepiscopus salutem eternam in Domino. Noveritis nos de communi consensu et assensu ... ... decani et capituli nostri Sancti Patricii Dublin et de voluntate et assensu nobilis viri Domini Mauricii Fitz-Geraldi ecclesie de Lathedbrune veri patroni pro se et heredibus suis sic statuisse et ordinasse quod dicta ecclesia de Lathedbrune cum ejus pertinentiis de cetero sit prebenda ecclesie nostre Sancti Patricii Dublin et quod Magister Richardus de Corren dicte ecclesie de Lathedbrune Rector tempore confeccionis presentium et sui in eadem ecclesia successores ejusdem ecclesie Sancti Patricii sint canonici stallum in choro locum in capitulo omnia juri et libertates et emolumenta sicut et alii canonici in eadem ecclesia Sancti Patricii perpetuo recepturi et habituri qui etiam onera ejusdem ecclesie sicut ceteri canonici sustinebunt. Dicti vero canonici per dictum Mauricium et ejus heredes presentandi vicarium in ordine diaconatus in dicta ecclesia Sancti Patricii invenient serviturum cum aliis dicte ecclesie vicariis similem in omnibus emolumentorum sumpturum porcionem. Statuimus insuper et ordinavimus quod quotiescunque dictam ecclesiam de Lathedbrune per nos factam Prebendariam ut supradictum est vacare contigerit dictus ....... nostris ....... ad dictam ecclesiam de Lathedbrune nomine Prebende iidoneum presentabunt. Ad hec sciant universi quod predicto nobili viro Mauricio vel ejus heredibus per ea que supra scripta sunt quantum ad jus patronatus attinet in nullo prejudicium generabitur quin libere possint et debeant ad dictam ecclesiam de Lathedbrune cum ipsam vacare contigerit ut superius continetur absque contradiccione aliqua presentare. Et ut supradicta ordinacio nostra et statutum perpetue firmitatis robur optineat huic scripto in modum cirographi confecto sigillum

Q2

nostrum

nostrum et sigillum dicti capituli nostri una cum sigillo dicti nobilis viri Mauricii filii Geraldi pro se et heredibus suis hinc inde sunt appensa penes alterutram partem parte altera presentis cirographi remante sigillo alterius partis consignata. Acta anno Domini 1248. Quarto idus Octobris apud Clondolkan.”—Alan's Reg.

Page 16, line 32.
Philippo de Intebergia.--See Rot. Can. Litt. Antiquiss. 41, 42.

Page 17, line r.
Lucas.—Luke, Archbishop from 1228 to 1255. This confirmation must have been
granted before 1251, in which year Hugh, Archdeacon of Dublin, was consecrated
Bishop of Ossory.

Page 17, line 18.
Johannis episcopi.—John de Cumba, Bishop of Cloyne from 1335.

Page 17, line 24.
Omachilly.-Imokilly, a barony in the County of Cork.

Page 17, line 27. Nicholai Clonensis.-Nicholas de Effingham, Bishop of Cloyne from 1284 to 1320. — Harr. Ware's Bishops, p. 576.

Page 17, line 34 Salva nobis.— Various means were adopted to secure the regular performance of divine service in the parishes appropriated to religious houses. Thus in Maurice FitzGerald's grant of the parish of Taghadoe, p. 16, the tithes, lands, and obventions, and other things belonging to them, are carefully reserved to the church of Laderachbrim (Laraghbrien), and to the chapel of Maynooth ; and in this instance of the parish of Rath, by reserving to himself the collation of the vicarage, the bishop not only secured the appointment of a resident priest, but also prevented the collusive arrangement which too often was made by religious houses with vicars of their own nomination.

Page 19, line 17. Et eciam.-By this general clause of confirmation of all lost and destroyed charters, the Priory was secured in all the possessions it then held, acquired at whatever time, or by whatever means. It would have given greater value to this charter in modern eyes, if all these possessions and their reputed donors had been named.

Page 20, line 3 Statuto de terris.—For the Statutes of Mortmain, see Blackstone's Commentaries, book ii. chap. 18.

Page

Page 21, line 4 Robertus dictus de Decer.-William de Brystole, who witnesses this charter as mayor, held that office in the sixteenth of Ed. I. 1288. See No. lxiii. p. 60. John le Decer was mayor in 1308 (and again in 1321, MSS. St. John's parish, Dublin), and died in 1332. Mon. Hib. 162, 211. In 1288, Archbishop John de Samforde, with the assent of the chapters of Trinity and of St. Patrick's, demised to David Callan, citizen of Dublin, half a carucate of land and five acres of pasture, in his tenement of Colloyn, for the term of twenty-four years, at the rent of 17d. an acre, with liberty to erect a pigeonhouse.—Alan's Reg. Coll. copy, p. 498.

Page 22, line 12. David de Kallan tunc majore.—David de Callan was more than once mayor ; at the time of this grant Robert Talbot and Hugh le Serjant were provosts, and David de Callan witnessed No. 40, Litt. Antiq. Rot. Can. as mayor, with Hugh de Keresey and Rob. le Decer, bailiffs.

Page 22, line 27. Roberto de Lynet.—The right form of this name, which was of great distinction for at least two generations, is now uncertain. In Mon. Hib. p. 156, in two paragraphs in immediate succession, we have Gilbert de Yvet and Gilbert de Livet. In this Registry it appears as De Lynet and Del Ynet. In the commencement of the reign of Edward II. the De Lynets were a powerful family in the south of Ireland. Rot. Can. Pat. 3 and 4 Edward II. 59, 72. Gilbert del Ynet is said, in Mon. Hib. p. 188, to have been mayor of Dublin about the year 12 12.

Page 23, line 3. Theobaldus Walteri.As this grant is witnessed by J., Bishop of Ferns from 1223 to 1243, it must be assigned, as is done by Archdall, Peerage, vol. iv. p. 5, to the second Theobald Walter. Is it not from the circumstance, that the first Theobald was brother to Hubert Walter, Archbishop of Canterbury, that the tradition originated of the connexion between the family of Ormonde and Archbishop Thomas à Becket ? Archdall, vol. iv. p. 3. This grant is recited and confirmed in No. ix.

Page 23, line 8. De Steinn.In 1403, Robert Lughteburgh held a certain pasture called Le Steyne, near Dublin, from James Earl of Ormonde.

Rot. Pat. 4, H. 4, 95. Theodore Docowra, Baron of Cullmore, was seised of the land called the Staine, containing forty acres, and near Le Hoggen Greene of one messuage, three acres of pasture and four of meadow, parcel of the possessions of the late monastery of St. Augustine. Inquis. 20 Car. I. Com. Civit. Dublin. During the attack of the Irish and of “Johan

le

In 1633

« السابقةمتابعة »