صور الصفحة
PDF
النشر الإلكتروني

le Deve” on Dublin, Gilmeholmoc drew up his forces ready to help whichever of the parties should prove victorious:

“ Desur le Hogges de sustein,
Dehors la cité, en un plein."

Conq. of Ireland, 2321.

Page 24, line 6. Mauricio Mach Muruch.This charter exhibits a mixture, unhappily too rare, of Irish and English names. The Fitz-Williams and the De Beaufos are seldom found with the Mac Dermots, Mac Moroughs, and Mac Donoghs.

Page 24, line 29. Thoma de Wyncestr.-In a Pipe Roll, 44, 5 Hen. III., engraved in Record Report i. Pl. ii. p. 56, several of the names attached to this and the following grants, appear as witnesses : Walter Unred, Symon Unred, Reymond Pictavens, Thom. de Wynton (Winchester), Elyas Burel, and Rich. Olof. In this year, 1259-60 (and also in 1267, Chain Book), Vincent Taverner was mayor, and Walter Unred and Hugh Cissor (Tailor) were provosts.

Page 25, line 21. Ricardo Olof.-According to No. xxxiv. p. 37, Richard Olof was mayor, and Thomas de Wynchester and Roger Asseborne were provosts, in 1317, the tenth of Edward II. ; but as Roger Ashbourne was mayor, and Peter Abraam provost, in 1260-1 (Corpor. Charter Book), we shall, if we assign it to this date, 1317, have amongst the nine witnesses to this charter, four persons connected with the corporation for fifty-seven years, which seems beyond likelihood. By considering the words “ filii Regis Edwardi” in No. xxxiv. as an error of the transcriber for the words “ filii Regis Henrici,” and thus making Olof's mayoralty in the year 1282, we shall avoid this difficulty, and save the credit of Robert Ware's list of mayors, in which Robert de Nottingham rightly appears as mayor in that famous year, in which he defended Dublin from the Scots. Geram also, the grantor, witnesses No. xxiii., which was probably granted about the year 1230.

Page 26, line 3. In Thengmothe. - This word seems to mean the Thingmote, or place of legal assembly in the Danish times of Dublin. See Gloss. Du Cange in voce Thingare. St. Andrew's church and churchyard were the site of the present Castle Market, and so late as the year 1758, some memory of its original dignity was preserved, in its

being the place of the mimic glories of the Mayor of Bull Ring.Harr. Dub. pp. 60, 319.

Page 26, line 15.
Petro Abraam.—Peter Abraham was mayor, and Simon Unred and Thomas
Wrench (probably Wyenche, for Wynchester) were bailiffs, in the year 1258.—Mon.
Hib.

P.
161. A

year which would agree with the observations made on page 25– Ricardo Olof.

Page 26, line 20. Baldewynus Gerran.—Was evidently the same person as Baldewynus Geram in No. xviii., which was probably executed at the same time with this charter, as the witnesses to both are the same.

Page 27, Hugone archidiacono Glyndalacensi.—Hugh de Mapilton, Bishop of Ossory, 1251-6. Luke was archbishop at the date of this charter, 1243. Hugh de Chaddestone was archdeacon of Glendaloch in 1267.Mason's St. Patrick’s, p. 47.

line 22.

Page 28, line 7 Flynttyscroft.-Flynncroftz, a messuage in St. Werburgh's parish.—Marginal note to Registry, fol. 33. d. In 1763, Sir William Davis paid the Corporation £2 a year for Flint's Croft.-Rental of Dublin Corporation, in Harris': Dublin.

Page 28, line 25 Wydone Cornub.— The following charter of this Guido Cornubiensis, or Guy Cornwall, provost in 1230, is taken from Alan's Registry, p. 640, Trinity College copy:

“Sciant presentes et futuri quod ego Wido Cornubiensis dedi concessi et hac presenti carta mea confirmavi Deo et ecclesie Sancti Patricii Dublin unam aream terre que jacet in longitudine ab area que fuit quondam Warini de London, usque ad aream domini ..... Canonici et in latitudine ab area Radulphi le Porter usque ad aream edificiorum canonicorum Sancti Patricii cum omnibus pertinentiis suis. Tenendam et habendam de me et heredibus meis libere et quiete solute et integre. Reddendo inde annuatim mihi et heredibus meis sex denarios scilicet ad festum Sancti Michaelis pro omni servicio et demanda. Hanc autem donacionem et concessionem ego Wido et heredes mei dicte ecclesie Sancti Patricii Dublin contra omnes homines in perpetuum Warrantizabimus, &c."

The following charter of Radulph de Mora, also another of the witnesses to this grant to All Hallows, is also taken from Alan's Registry (p. 10, Trinity College copy),

and

and is worthy of notice, from the mention of Beltonia, clearly the Baaltinne, as the term of payment, corresponding to Martinmas:

“Universis Christi fidelibus ad quos presens scriptum pervenerit Radulphus de Mora civis Dublin salutem. Noverit universitas vestra me divine pietatis intuitu pro salute anime mee et uxorum mearum antecessorum et successorum meorum dedisse concessisse et hac presenti charta confirmasse in puram et perpetuam elemosynam Deo et Domui Sancte Marie de Gratia Dei unam marcam redditus de terra quam teneo de Richardo Trussell que quondam fuit Obti Trussell solvendam medietatem ad Belloniam (Beltoniam ?) et aliam medietatem ad festum Sancti Martini de me et heredibus meis in perpetuum percipiendam. Ut autem hæc mea donatio concessio et confirmatio imposterum perseverent presentem chartam sigilli mei impressione roboravi. His testibus Galfrido de Marisco. Nicholao Parvo. Hervisio de Dunhevet. Michaele de Angulo. Gilberto de Lynet. Ingelbric. Ada vicario de Balmadon.”

Page 28, line 23. R. Priore de Sancta Trinitate. At the beginning of the thirteenth century there were two or three priors of the Holy Trinity whose names began with the letter R. (See Mon. Hib.) Magister Thomas was probably Thomas de Craville, Chancellor of St. Patrick's in 1231, and W. Archdeacon, was William de Northfield, Archdeacon of Dublin in the time of Archbishop Luke, 1228 to 1256. In Mon. Hib., p. 157, Ralph de la More is said to have been dead in 1238; and the Charter Book of the Corporation says, that Guido Cornubiensis was Provost in 1229–30, so that we may fairly assign this charter to some time about 1230.

Page 29, line 5. Johannes Hareng.Seems to have been the tenant or assignee of Philip de Wygornia mentioned in xxii. This lease cannot have been much later than the grant in the previous number, as three of the witnesses are the same in both.

Page 30, line 24. Thoma de Wynton.—This grant is of the same date as No. xvii. the mayor and provosts being the same. Roger the clerk wrote de Winton and Scissore for the names which Nicholas of Leominster(?), the writer of xvii., was content to represent under their vernacular forms of Wyncester and Taillur.

Page 31, line 3

. Audoenus Brun.-It is difficult, from its internal evidence, to ascertain the date of this document, but as it must have been prior to xxvii., which refers to it, and which

was

was made before the year 1240, it must be one of the earliest in the Registry. For various grants made by Archbishop Comyn to Audoen his clerk, son of William Brune, see Alan's Registry, College copy, p. 628.

Page 31, line 25 . Rogero Priore.-Roger was prior of the Holy Trinity in 1212 and 1230; in 1238 Philip was prior.-Mon. Hib. 154. Thomas was chancellor of St. Patrick's in 1231, and William Fitz-Guy was dean from 1219 to 1240. So that this grant must have been made between 1219 and 1238. In Mon. Hib., p. 206, William de Flamstede is said to have been mayor sometime before 1308. John le Decer was mayor in 1308, but if a William Flamstede was mayor about that time, he may have been the son of this witness.

Page 32, line 8. Sancti Petri de la Hulle.Stanyhurst says that the church of St. Peter de Monte, or upon the Hill, was appendant to St. Patrick's church.-Description of Ireland in Holinshed, p. 25. The vicarage of St. Peter's was formed in 1680, by an act of Council, which united into one the parishes of St. Kevin, St. Peter de Monte, and a portion of St. Stephen's.—Mason, St. Patrick's, p. 45.

Page 32, line 29. Willelmo Bocdif.It is to be feared that in the names of the mayors and provosts, witnesses to this lease, we have an instance of the carelessness of the writer of the Registry. In Ware's list, which was taken from the list in the Tholsel, the

mayor

and bailiffs for this year, 1334, are William Gaydon, William de Winerton, and Roger Grancourt ; while for the same year the Charter Book of the Corporation, fol. 64, gives the names Beydyn, Winertown, and Grauncourt. It is easy to reconcile the Charter Book with Ware. Nor is it, perhaps, impossible to reconcile all these seemingly incongruous names, Gaydon, Bocdif, and Beydyn, by supposing that the real name was Becdif, which being written Begdyv, was copied by the scribe in the Charter Book Beydyn, and by the still more careless framer of Ware's list was changed into Gaydon. According to this conjecture the real name is more nearly preserved in our Registry than in any other record. John Crokes, John Callan, and Giles Waldeswel (correctly Baldeswell) frequently appear in Ware's list about this time.

Page 33, line 2. Ricardi Chamberleyn.-Richard Chamberlan was bailiff in 1374, and again in 1375, and is occasionally mentioned as a citizen of Dublin in the Chancery Rolls, from 49 Ed. III. to 7 Hen. IV. He probably held this land from the city, and for greater IRISH ARCH SOC. IO.

R

security

security causedthis relaxation to be entered in the Charter Book, where it is to be found at folio 58.

Page 33, line 22. Michaelis de la Pol.Stanyhurst, ubi supra, calls this church St. Michael's of Poules, alias Paules. From the two following leases it would appear that this parish was situated near St. Patrick's cathedral. In 1682 the parishes of St. Bride and St. Michael of Pole, and a part of St. Stephen's, were united by act of Council, and this church was used as the diocesan school-house. In 1706 the Chapter issued an order to Dr. John Jones that he should not pull down the monument or tower of St. Michael of Paul's, near his school-house in Sheepe-street.—Mason, 72. Archdall, Mon. Hib. p. 150, says that Le Pulle-street, in the parish of St. Brigid, is now called Ship-street; but this is inconsistent with the earlier authority of Stanyhurst, who, p. 26, in his enumeration of the streets of Dublin, mentions both the Poule, or Paulmil-street, and the Sheepe-street, alias Ship-street; he also states that the Poule gate bridge was repaired by Nicholas Stanyhurst about the year one thousand five hundred fourty and four. During the assault of the Norwegians on the English occupiers of Dublin, Harris, in his History of Dublin, p. 224, says, Richard de Cogan, by direction of his brother, sallied out of the south gate (then called Pole gate, at the end of St. Werburgh-street) with a body of 300 horse, and attacked the enemy in flank. In the original the gate from which this victorious attack was made is called the west gate, and the 300 horse are reduced to 30.—Conquest of Ireland, 2341. In Hib. Expug. Dist. I. c. xxi., Giraldus says that Richard Cogan sallied out per porticum australem. Curious etymologies are suggested by the name of the Norwegian leader : Regan calls him Johan le Devé, and Giraldus styles him Johannes Thewoode, quod latine sonat insanus vel vehemens. Have we here the origin of the Scottish word Deave, and the old English Wood?

Page 34, line 10. Priore.-Rogero ?-Vide No. xxvii.

Page 34, line 15 Carmelit[an]is.— The Carmelites, or White Friars, in White Friar street. This house was founded about the year 1278.-Mon. Hib. 213.

Page 37, line 17 Ricardo Olof majore. As the names of R. Olof, Thomas Wynchester, and Roger Ashbourne, frequently occur as witnesses to many undated grants, it is of some importance to ascertain the year in which Olof was mayor, and Wynchester and Ashbourne

provosts.

« السابقةمتابعة »