« السابقةمتابعة »
PAINTED GLASS, GRAVE COVERS, ETC.
columns, 11 feet 4 inches in length, the produce of a neighbouring quarry, took the place of the square window that had become dilapidated. At the same time also a ceiling of pitch-pine was placed over the chancel and nave. On both the north and south sides of the chancel there are two lancet windows, seemingly of some antiquity. The nave and chancel are otherwise severely plain in appearance. Looking towards the transept and tower two handsome and lofty arches meet the eye, and one does not often find a finer arch than that of the tower. The arches on the east side of the transept appear to belong to the same period as the tower. The windows in the lower portion of the tower, both outside and inside, are most worthy of attention. The tower was evidently a place of refuge, as its strength and solidity and the immense bolt spaces betoken.
There are traces of detached buildings on the east and west of the tower ; that on the west existed and was occupied by an ancient dame, who is still remembered. There is a trace of a doorway in the south wall of the nave, which probably led into the refectory. The sedilia, of which but little remains, were restored with plaster some few years ago.
The east window on the left contains a remnant of stained glass, representing a Premonstratensian monk in the attitude of prayer ; the words "Sancta Maria’ are inscribed on the scroll. The centre window has a small representation of the Crucifixion, surrounded by the sacred symbols of the Passion. There is another small figure of a saint, kneeling in prayer, in one of the lancet windows on the south.
The other minor points of interest in the interior are five ancient sepulchral slabs :-(1), in the baptistery, a stone with a crozier ; (2), also in the baptistery, a forester's tomb, inscribed Robertus Egylston, with bow, arrow, horn, and sword ; (3), another forester's tomb, with the initials “T.E.,” possibly Thomas Egylston, and an arrow, bugle, and sword ; (4), a cross ; (5), the abbot's tomb, with chalice and crozier on either side of a large cross ; the three latter are now arranged alongside in the transept. The Bible dates from the year 1727, and contains the following entries by lord Crewe's trustees on the fly-leaf :
(1) A Bible, A Common Prayer Book, A Carpet for the Communion Table, A Linnen Cloth for the same, and a Napkin, with a Surplice, given to the Chappel at Blanchland by the Rev. St Jo. Dolben & Dr. Eden, Executors of the
Late Lord Crewe. Nov. 24, 1735. Durham. Nothing of these to be used at Shotley Church. Thos. Eden.
(2) A Bible and a Carpet for the Communion Table and a Linning Cloth and a Napkin, allso a Common Prayer Book, and a Surplice given by Sir James Dolb" and Dr. Eden for the use of Blanchland Chapple. The above not to be used at Shotley. Durham. Dec. 5th. 1748.
A handsome oak reredos and side panels have been lately erected by the Rev. B. G. R. Hale, in memory of the late vicar, the Rev. G. M. Gurley, his uncie. The churchyard lies to the west and east of the building, and is well planted with trees. In it is an ancient cross, about 7 feet high, of slender form, with open floriated head, which is worthy of notice.
There is a tradition which tells us that an underground passage runs from the bottom of the tower steps to the old fort, some quarter of a mile below the village on the bank of the river : no one, however, has yet verified this tradition, but probably, like many more, it has no foundation.
The church plate has been fully described by Mr. Blair in Proceedings (vol. iii. p. 267).
, marriages , 1753 , 1804.
banns » 1753 , 1804.
his Wife Blancha,
1753. Apri 24th. Isaac Liddle and Hannah Maughan.
, Apr 27th. Joseph Watson and Bridget Thompson.
.., Do. 29th, John Baron and Mary Bowman. The first burials are :1753. Apr 29th. Buried Hannah daughter of Robt. Ward of Hill.
house. , May 19th. Joseph son of John Ward of Burnshield Haugh. ... Do, 20th. Edward son of Tho. Beck of Blanchland.