صور الصفحة
PDF
النشر الإلكتروني
[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small]

more.

[ocr errors]

1830.]
Fall of Whitby Abbey Tower.

113 Mr. URBAN,

June 26. that so poble a specimen of the taste T is with much regret that I inform and piety of our ancestors is now no your antiquarian readers that the

HENRY BELCHER. tower of the much-admired Abbey at Whitby (tvhich has been noticed in We annex 10 our, Corresponda some of your volumes) fell to the ent's report of the full of the lower ground about 1 o'clock in the after of Whitby Abbey, a S: W. view of it, Honn of Friday the 25th inst. This taken about the year 1793. (See Pl. II.) striking portion of the venerable pile • As a frontispiece to part ii. of our has for some years past exhibited symp. vol. LxxxII. is an excellent view of toms of tapidly increasing decay, and the east front of Whitby Abbey, drawn to those who watched their progress, by Mr. J. G. Buckler, but that views it was matter of surprise thai the ca. does not embrace the tower. A copious tastrophe had been so long averied;' account of the Abbey by Mr. Buckler, and that the late tempesjuous seasons given in that volume, p. 633, will sushould not have accelerated the de. persede the necessity of entering on its struction of what has so long appeared, history on the present occasion. to be touering to its fall. But it was In Grose's Antiquitiesvol. iv, are DOL sated thus to meet its doom; and two views of this Abbey; and in the there is something rather affecting and Antiquarian Cabinet is a pleasing view sublime in the manner in which the from the N., showing the tower. But downfall of this fine remnant: of anti-, the best views of this Abbey are to be quity has at last- taken place. Year found in the new edition os Dugdale's alter year has it proudly withstood the Monasticon. Mr. Coney has there warring of the elemenis, and the fury given two beautiful: plaios .;: one an of the wiofry blast, as if unwilling to

exterior view, from the N.W.; and the be hurried to that destruction, which, other, an interior view looking towards in the opinion of all who knew its pe- the north and east. The latter forms rilous condition, might be expected a very superior subject for the pencil. from every passing storm'; , but yet,

On the veih of Nov. 1794, a heary conscious of its infirmiiy, and that it gale proved destructive to the west end could no longer resist. The silent ra- of the Abbey, and the great window, vages of tiose, ti slowly and majestically which is shown in the annexed view, fell in the calın noontide of a som (and was justly admired for the elegance mer's day, its temáins forming a shape of its proportions,) was then destroyed. less mass of ruin almost on the very Edit. spot 'once sheltered by its hallowed roof. The event has excited the most

Mr. URBAN,

Aug. 10. Lively interest in the town of Whitby, THE fishing town of Bris ham is bey is held in the highest reneration, Torbay, four miles east of Dartmouth, and the falling of 'ils Tafıý tower is to It is divided into two paris, ibe town? them like the loss of a friend, wion! and the quay.' . This latter is situ. they had known and loved from their ased at the foot of a range of hills sur-, earliest years, whom they were in the rounding a small bay; the reels are habit of seeing every day, and meeting' parrow, and the greater part of the with at ésery rurn.

houses old. Those on the west side of The tower of Whitby Abbey - biasa !he principal street are modern, but for centuries been an important and inconvenient, osving to their being well-known land mark, * and formed a built at the base of a lofty limestone, most intetesting and conspicuous fea-' rock, formerly a quarry, while their türe in the romantic scenery of the gardens are placed on the summit, and district.' Its loss therefore will not be consequently long flights of steps are.. felt by the neighbouring inhabitants' necessary to reach thems in one Aight alone, but the traveller by land or I counted seventy-four steps. sea' has reason to lament its destruć.

• The haven is defended from the vio.. tipt, and the public at large to regret lence of the weather by a substantial

stone pier, and is capable of sheltering The tower was 120 feet high, and the aboutiwo hundred sail offisining vessels... cliff upog which it'was situated was nearly A chapel of ease has been erected 200 feet above low water mark.

within these few years, to the great Gent. Mag, August, 1930.

114
Account of Brixhum, co. Devon.

[Aug
convenience of the inhabitants; the 12th, in the year of our Lord 1710, to the
exterior is not remarkable for its archi- extreme affliction of his father and mother,
tectural beauty, but the interior is Eheu! quam brevis est ætas, et rara senectus,
lastefully filled up in the modern Dum puer hic properat vivere, vita perit."
Gothic style, and ornamented with a Within the precincts of the pew is
handsome altar-piece: it affords ac- the following inscription on a slab of
commodation to nearly fifteen hun statuary marble:
dred persons. Here are also two ineet- “M. S. Francisci Buller, Baronetti, per
ing houses ; one belonging to the plusquam septemdecem annos Banci Regis,
Wesleyan Methodists, the other lo deinde per sex anuos Banci Communis Justi-
the Calvinisis; the former is rather an ciarii ; viri memorabilis, qui in causis disa
elegant building. At the water-side ceodis acumine et diligentia, in indagando
is a small market-house. The town, jure industriâ, et in interpretando solertia,
composed chiefly of detached cottages,

nemini cessit. Natus in parochiâ Credienextends more than a mile up a hill 10

sis 28° die Martii 1746, obiit Londonii 40 the west; about midway through it, die Junii, 1800, et sepultus est in cæme

terio divi Audrææ prope Hospitium Grayon the south side, is the parish church (dedicated to the blessed Virgin), a

ense, juxta reliquias Edwardi Buller, filii

primogeniti.” spacious embattled structure, built in the style of the latter part of the four- letter on a small wooden tablet, which

The following is painted in black teenih, or beginning of the fifteenth hangs loosely on one of the pillars in century, with red sandy stone, now

the nave: rough-casted. It consists of a nave, chancel, north and south ailes, with a of Devon, yö,* who died the 20 of July,

“ John Crout of Brixham in this county transept in each ; at the west end is a

1641, gaue ten shillinges yearely for euer plain embatiled tower, a hundred feet

to this par, of Brixham for ye relefe of ye high ; on each side is a small circular

poore, to be payd ort of on tenement caled lurret, through which access is gained Blockhowse in this parrish of Brixham, to to the roof of the Church. Facing the be distrubyted euery neweres day, by the south is a large porch, having a groined help of ye church wardens and ouerseers of ceiling; in the centre are three figures, the poore.” but the whitewasher has been so in- The sounding-board of the pulpit is dustrious, that it is almost an imn possi- surmounted by ihe figure of an angel bility to recognise for whom they are gaudily painted and gilded, blowing a meant. The interior, notwithstand. Trumpet. On each side the nave, im. ing its present neglected state, and the mediately beneath the cornice, are two nuinerous church wardenizations' it others holding shields, charged with has undergone, still retains traces of its armorial bearings; on one are the arms original elegance. The aisles are loliy, of Courney, on another those of Yarde. and separated by obtuse arches; the The font is exceedingly beautiful, but columns appear io have been painted the syminetry of its ancient tracery and in imitation of red marble, as portions foliage is now eclipsed by modern orare visible through the whitewash. A naments, bestowed on it by the whitelarge old gallery stands in the choir, wash brush! The Scripture sentences while a lesser, erected about three referred to above are destroyed. At years since, occupies a part of the the eastern end of the south aisle are south aile : each iransept is also fur- several monuments to members of the nished with one ; in that in the south Fownes family, and in the correspond. side is a wooden tablet, bearing a long ing end of the north aisle are three old list of donations to the poor, in red ones of the Uptons ; on the first, a large and black letters, placed there in 1692. dark coloured marble one in the faThe same year the Church was repaired shionable form of the reign of the seand ornanienied with Scripture sen- cond Charles, supported by Grecian rences, “ when Mr. Robi. Lake and columns, and baving their arms on Geo. Gillard were churchwardens." the top, are the following inscriptions : The opposite gallery is devoted entirely • In memory of John Vpton of Lvpton, 10 the use of the Buller family: At Esq. who piovsly and righteovsly served the head of the stairs is a handsome God and his Covatry, in his private and old-fashioned monument :

public station while a Ivstice of Peace, and In memory of Edward Yarde, eldest Burgesse for Dartmovth in three Parliason of Edward Yarde, esq. of Churston

ments, at his proper cost and charge. Court, who died at Eton School, April ye

* Yeomau.

[ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small]

115

1930.)

Account of Brixham, co. Devon. “ This monument was erected by his Siuce then that spirite of Christin him did livé, most disconsolate relict Ursula, daughter of That spirite to him a gloriovs life doth give. Sir John Lytcott of Moulsey in the county And as to it a plenty hee did sow, of Surrey, Kt. with whom she lived 22 yeers A plenteors glory now to him shall grow, of true conjugal affection, and by whom she And thov who movru'st that hee is not with had three sons and one daughter; the first thee,

(see." dyed young, the others, educated in the Bee like him, and in blisse thov shali him feer of the Lord, and kept from the vices of youth, gave great hopes of being eminently

Above this is a hand holding a servicealle, were early transplanted, dyeing

crown proceeding from a cloud, and in the true Christian faith before their fa underneath it is written, ther, who departed this life at Salusbury, “ A crowne of righteovsnes.” Sept. 17th, and was here interred the 20th, anno ætatis 49, Domini 1687."

Adjoining is a handsome monu“ Here also lyes ye aboue said Ursula,

ment to the memory of Mary, daughwho had been first married to George Clerke ler of John Southcot, esq. of Dartof London, merchant, by whom she had 8 mouth, who died the 4th of August, children. Ob. 16 Dec. 1709, anno æt. 79. 1752, in the tenth year of her age.

“ Arthur, their eldest son, was born at Above the inscription, an angel holdDublin in Ireland, Feb. 14th, and buryed ing a crown leans on a medallion porthere in March in 1666. Arthur, their se- trait of the young lady. cond son, born at Lupton, Jan. 6th, 1667, On each side the entrance of the died at Kingsbridge Nov. 28th, was buried chancel is an ancient tomb under a here, 1680. John, their third son, born

small arch, which once afforded a view. at Lupton May 17th, 1668, died and was interred in Wadham Coll. Oxon. Dec. 1686.

of the high altar to those in the eastern Vrsula, their opely daughter, born at Lup- south now forms a doorway, over it

extremity of the aisles. That on the ton, Jan. 13th, 1671, died in London Aug. 21st, and was interred here in the same

are the letters P. G. and the date 1710; grave wish her father, 1687."

the other is perfect; round the marThe second, which is similar but gin is an inscription in black letter, smaller, is in the N. E. angle between

but illegible. the two windows, and contains a pom

The communion-table is covered by pous Larin inscription to the memory

a curiously embroidered violet-colourof Antony, third son of John and D. ed velvet cloth, evidently part of the rothea Uplon, who went to Spain in ancient furniture of the high altar; his youth, where he was for thirty sainis. Before the table on the foor

the border is adorned with figures of years an eminent merchant. (He died in July 1669, aged 48.

is a stone on which is the following: In the opposite angle is the third, a “This pavement was done in the year small one. The inscription is on brass 1721. Nicho. Browne, Geo, Pretor, churchin Roman capitals :

wardens." “To the preciovs memory of John Vp

The altar-piece is divided into seves ton, esq. a saint excellent on earth, and now ral compartments, in which are rough gloriors in beauen, who was borne on earth ly painted the Crucifixion, David, and Aprill 7, 1590, and was translated to hea- Moses and Aaron. Over the decalogue ven Sept. 11, 1641.

are ihe arms of Fownes; above them Thinke not this single grave holds one alone, is the following inscription : Many good men ly buried in this one.

“ Hunc lucum sacrum sumptibus suis And thovgh his life on earth not long ap- ligno surrexit et ornavit Johannes Fownes, peares,

[yeares, senior, de Nethuray, armiger, anno Dom. Hee the good workes brought forth of many 1730." Swift to do good his time hee did improve,

Bebind the altar is the vestry. Au lodystriovs, active, and made all of love. Others do good by fits and in a mood,

old register, rebound, and bearing Bvt this man's constant trade was doing good;

marks of fire, * is preserved in the paWisedome in him was ioyned with devotion, rish chest. Inside the cover is ine And both adorn'd with sweetest conversation following memorandum: Hee had no private nor self seeking hart,

“ In acknowledgement of the polite attenAs those that thinke the whole made for a part. tions of the Rev. James Eyre to Sir Isaac But by an vniversall spirite led, Which breaches into ye church from Christ Heard, Garter Principal King at Arins, this her head,

The inhabitants have a tradition that Hee lov'd the whole, to it himselfe hee gave, the town was burnt and the church greatly And in the good thereof his good wov'd have. injured by the French.

[ocr errors][ocr errors]

116

Brixham, co. Depon.-- Invention of Letters. [Aug. Register of Brixham has been carefully re- of a sailor; but before he put fogt on pared and bound, in order to preserve a va- the landing-place (which was covered Juable record from further decay, and for tbe

with spectators,) he exclaimed with a benefit of the present and succeeding genera- loud voice, “ Welcome or not?” He tions. 29th January, 1807."

was immediately answered with the The registers commence as follows: shouts of the multitude, and cries of Marriages, 161h Jan. 1556. Burials, “Welcome! welcome!” 1st Jan. 1560, Baptisms, loch March, During the late war, this bay was 1587.

one of the stations of the Channel Aleet. The belfry is on the ground floor, The population of Brixham is comand was formerly separated from the pated ai six thousand. body of the Church by a poble point

J. CHATTAWAY. ed arch, now closed up with lath and plaster.

Mr. URBAN, Grimsby, July 11. The church-yard is large, but contains nothing of interest.

In my former communication, I

have endeavoured to prove that LetBrixham derives its name from one

ters were in use before the time of of its early proprietors Brithric. In

Moses; and I am further of opinion that the reign of St. Edward the Confessor they were known to the predecessors one Uile or Ulphus was the owner of of Abraham ; for Tully says, that the the manor, and at the Conquest it was granted to a Norman Baron named short time after the death of Thoth,

Egyptian Hercules, who lived but a Ralph. Afterwards it became the pro

wrote the letters used in Phrygia. perty of the powerful family of Vaul- Semiramis, the widow of Ninus, who tort, Barons of Harberion. At the Aourished about the time of Abraham, death of Lord Roger de Vaultort, with

erected a pillar to commemorate her out issue, in the reign of Henry I. it was divided between the sons of his conqaests, and engraved upon it this

inscription : “1, reigning in Nineveh, two sisters, Beatrix, married to the

made the bounds of my kingdom 10. Lord Corbet, and Avise, married to

wards the east the river Inamane; and Pomery of Berry Pomery: After pass- towards the south it is bounded by the ing through various hands, it has been

land that bears frankinceuse and sold off in small portions, the possess myrrh.”? And, as we are informed ors of which are denominated the by Diodorus Siculus, the same royal “Quay Lords.” Lupton in this parish was the birth. lady received letters or missives from

an ancient Indian King, relative to her place of Nicholas Upton, a learned lawyer, and one of the earliest writers letters from the most early times. Mr.

eastern expedition; for the Indians had on heraldry.

Maurice thinks that the Vedas were Torbay, the To:onesium Lillus of written in a character which was der žhe Romans, has been the theatre of rived from Noah, and had been used many great events in English history. by the antediluvians; and Sir William Here it was, as we are told, Vespasian Jones 3 conjectures 'ihat the Yajush landed, when he invaded Britain in

Veda was composed 1580 years before the reign of Claudius, A. D. 49. But

the birth of Christ; i. e. nine years the most celebrated is the landing of before the birth of Moses, and ninety William, Prince of Orange, afterwards before the exodus from Egypt. William III. at Brixham, on the 5th

Pliny 4 affirms that the Pelasgi, the of Nov. 1688. On his accession to ihe ihrone, he created his Admiral line in the eldest times, first brought

founder of whom was a man in Japhet's Arthur Herbert Baron Torbay, and letters into Lalium and that they Earl of Torrington; but the titles be

were in Italy before the Lydian colony, came extinct ai the death of the Earl. under Tyrrhenus, came thither and

Mr. Dunstanville, a merchant, who expelled them. And the 'Lydian con made a tour through the South-Hams tony was but four generations after about forty years ago, relates the ful

the time of Menes,6 The most ancient lowing anecdote of William's landing,

Greek letters were called Pelasgic, and as told him by an aged native of Brixham, who was a child whon this great

* Continued from p. 9. event happened :

1 Cumb. Orig. Tract 3. 2 L. 2. As it was low water, and the pier 3 Asiat. Res. vol, v, p. 47. not being then in existence, the Prince 4 L. 7, c. 56. was brought on shore on the shoulders

5 L. 3, c. 5.

6 Cumb. Sanch.

[ocr errors]
« السابقةمتابعة »