« السابقةمتابعة »
perhaps In the world. It wan composed, a* to pupils. Almost exclusively of the sons of rich men; and they came from the cities of the North ana the South, many being children of men well known In public life, or of historical families. . . . Probably no American college had at the time Bo large, varied, well-paid, and gifted a faculty as the Hound Bill School. It outnumbered Harvard and Yale in the corps of lt« teachers, and put a complete circle about them In the comprehensiveness of its scheme of education. The first gymnasium in the country was set up in its playground, under Dr. Pollen, who afterwards planted a similar one in the Delta at Camoridge. The school had a regular professor of manners, a Cu*to§ Momm, who spent his time with the boys in their pluy-bours, with special purpose to correct ill-speech or violence or ungentlemanliuess. //. H . Billon:*. About the first of August we went to Round Jhll and Hanover, but t ha t i* all. George Ttehior.
Bound Robin. This name is given to a written petition or protest, signed by a numbe? of persons, in a circular form, so that it may not appear who signed it first. Sometimes the names are written around a ring or circle enclosing the memorial or remonstrance, and sometimes they are appended to it, arranged within a circle of their own, from the centre of which they radiate as the spokes of a wheel do from the nave. It has been said that the officers of the French government first used the Round Robin as a means of making known their grievances; but this is doubtless a mistake, as the same device seems to have been in use among the ancient Romans, and also among the Greeks, with whom it perhaps originated. The most celebrated Round Robin ever written was addressed to Dr. Johnson by several friends of Oliver Goldsmith, for whose monument in Westminster Abbey Johnson had written a Latin inscription. The following is a copy of this famous paper: —
We, the circurasubscrlbers, having read with preat pleasure an intended epitaph for the monument of Dr. Goldsmith, which, considered abstractedly, appears to be, for elegant composition and masterly style, La every respect
worthy of the pen of Its learned author,
Thos. Franklin. T. Barnard.
[These names were signed around a circle enclosing the petition.]
49- The term Round Robin is of uncertain derivation. Some say it comes from the French words rond, round, and moan, a ribbon; but thl*is mere assertion, and locks even pluusl bility to support it. In some parts of England a pancake Is called a Round Robin; ana it may, fairly enough, be conjectured that the circular form of petition, which is also so called, was named from it* resemblance to a pancake. But the question then arit*et. Why was the pancake so called? This Is not easily answered. It may even have happened that the pancake wu named from its resemblance to the petition. Robin Is an old and familiar form of Robert (Robin Redbreast, by the bv, means Robert Redbreast); and it would noL be strange if some forgotten persoa of that name, who proposed to hit* associates this ingenious method of declaring their wishes or sentiments, was the occasion of the designation. Or he may have been the happy Inventor of the
(>ancake, and have left no memorial of timself except that useful article of food and Its provincial name. There is, however, another conjecture, which, as it has greater probability, deserves to be mentioned. The small pieces of spun-yarn or marline which arc used to confine the upper edge of a sail to the yard or gaff, are called rope-f*and», — corrupted by sailors to rottandg, or robbing. Now- a robbin of this sort encircling a yard bears an easily recognizable, though rather fanciful, resemblance to a ring enclosing a petition or other writing. As Hound. Robins are frequently made use of by British sailors, it is quite possible that this is the true origin of the name.
No round robin signed by the whole
main-deck of the Academy or the Torch.
Bound Table [of King Arthur]. An ancient painted oaken table of a circular form, in tlie County Hall of Winchester, England. The tradition is, that this table is the same around which King Arthur and his knighte used to assemble. This table was exhibited in 1522 to the Emperor Charles V. of Germany. It is described as "a circle divided Into 25 green and white compartments radiating from the centre, which is a large double rose. . . . Resting upon the rose, is a canopied niche, in which is painted a royal figure, bearing the orb and sword, and wearing the royal crown."
"For his own part," he said, " and in the land where he was bred, men would as soon take for their mark King Arthur's Hound Table, which held sixty knights around H," Scott.
Where Venta's Norman castle still up
reara Its raftered hall,— High hung remains, the pride of warlike
years, Old Arthur's board; — on the capacious
round Some British pen has sketched the names
renowned. In marks obscure, of his immortal peers. Though joined by magic skill with many
a rnvme The Druiu frsme. unhonored, falls a prey To the i»low vengeance of the wizard Time, And fade the British characters away; Yet Spenser's page, that chants in verse
sublime Those chiefs, shall live, unconscious of decay, nomas Warton. Full fifteen years and more were sped. Each brought new wreaths to Arthur's
head. And wide were through the world re
nown'd The glories of bis Table Round, Scott.
Bound Table. See Kino ArThur's Round Table.
Bound Top. See Little Round Top.
See Old Stone
Rousseau's House. On the Grand Rue, Geneva, Switzerland. In this house Jean Jacques was born, and spent his early life.
Rowallan Castle. A feudal mansion of great antiquity near Kilmarnock, Scotland.
Roxburgh Castle. An ancient fortress, made a royal palace by David I. in 1124, near Teviot Bridge, over the Tweed, in Scotland. It is now in ruins. In a churchyard adjoining is the grave of Edie Ochiltree, a. character in Scott's novel of "The Antiquary." His real name was Andrew Gemmel. In the same neighborhood is a monument to the memory of the poet Thomson, the author of " The Seasons," who was born here.
Roxburgh I how fallen, since first In Gothic
pride. Thy frowning battlements the war defied. Leyden.
Roxburghe Club. This club in London derives its foundation from the sale, in 1812, of the library of John, third Duke of Boxburghe (died 1801), after whom it is named. It was avowedly instituted for the reprinting of rare and old specimens of ancient literature; each member to "reprint a scarce piece of ancient lore, to be given to the members, one copy being on vellum for the chairman, and only as many copies as members." The Boxburghe Club gave elal>orate dinners. It is still in existence.
Royal Academy. A Society of Artists in London, organized in 1768, of which Sir Joshua Reynolds was the first president. The Academy occupied rooms for a time in Somerset House, but in 1838 removed to the National Gallery.
Royal Academy of Music. An academy in London, for teaching all branches of music, founded in 1822 by the late Earl of Westmoreland.
Royal Adelaide. A British steamer wrecked off Margate, March 30, 1850, with a loss of 200 lives.
Royal Alfred. An armor-plated ship of the British navy, launched Oct. 15, 1864.
Eoyal Charter. A British steamer, bound from Australia to Liverpool, wrecked on the English coast, Oct. 25, 1859, with a loss of 459 lives and nearly 84,000,000 worth of gold. A good part of the latter was recovered.
Eoyal Exchange. A building erected for the use of merchants and bankers in London, opened by Queen Victoria in 1844. The hour of 'Change —the busy period—is from :tj to 44 P.m. Tuesday and Friday are the principal days on 'Change. Lloyd's is situated in the Eoyal Exchange. Sir Thomas Gresham (sixteenth century) built the first Royal Exchange, which was destroyed in the Great Fire of 1666. It was rebuilt, and again burnt in 1838.
Proclaim through every high street of the
city. This place be no longer called a Burse; But since the building's stately, fair, and
strange. Be it fore ver called — the Royal Exchange. Heywood.
Observe the humors of th' Exchange,
Eoyal George. One of the finest ships in the British navy, commanded by Admiral Ketnpenfeldt. Eequiring repairs near the keel, she was careened at Portsmouth; but, being turned over too much, she filled and went down with all on board. Nearly 900 lives were lost.
1»S-" The Royal George, of 108 guns, whilst undergoing a partial careening in Portsmouth Harbor, was overset about 10, A.m. Aug. 29, 1782. The total loss was believed to be near 1,000 souls." Palgrave.
Toll for the brave! the bravo that are no more!
All sunk beneath the wave, fast by their native shore!
Eight hundred of the brave, whose courage well was tried.
Had made the vessel heel, and laid her on her side.
A land-breeze shook the shrouds, and she was overset;
Down went the Royal George, with all her crew complete 1
Weigli the vessel up, once dreaded by oar
foes. And mingle with our cup the tear that
float again. Full charged with England's thunder, and
plough the distant main. But Kempenfeldt is gone, his victories are
o'er; And he and his eight hundred shall plooen
the waves no more. Coteper.
Eoyal Institution of Great Britain. A society formed in London in 1799 for the pursuit of natural science. It has been called "the workshop of the Royal Society." In the laboratory of the Institution Sir Humphry Davy and Professor Faraday made some of their most brilliant discoveries.
Eoyal Naval Club. This club in London, formed in 1765, numbered among its members Boscawen, Eodney, Sir Philip Durham, and was a favorite resort of William IV. when Duke of Clarence. The precursor of this club was the Naval Club, founded about 1674. The Eoyal Naval Club was confined to members of the naval service. The club diued at the Thatched House, on the anniversaries of the battle of the Nile.
Eoyal Oak. A famous pollard oak on the borders of Worcestershire, England, in which, according to tradition, King Charles II. secreted himself from his pursuers, who passed around and under the tree without discovering liirn. On account of the king's escape, it became a custom to wear oak on the anniversary of the king's birthday. At the Eestoration the oak was destroyed, through the eagerness to obtain relics of the king's hiding-place; but another tree, which grew from one of its acorns, is still standing It is said that the king planted two acorns from the old tree in Hyde Park, and that the tree which sprang from oue of them is now nourishing.
There is no need that the personal* on the scene be a King anil Clown; that the scene he the Forest of the Royal 0dl."*»n the borders of Staffordshire: " need onl>* that the scene lie on this old flrmEartliw wire, where wo also have 10 surprisingly arrived; that the personages be men. and tern with the eyes Hi' a man. Carltjk.
And I will work in prose and rhyme,
Than bard has honored beech or lime,
In which the Bwarthy ringdove aat.
And more than England honors that,
Wherein the younger Charles abode
And far below the ltoumlhcad rode.
Royal Oak. An armor-plated ship of the British navy, launched Sept. 10,1802.
Royal Society. A society established in London for the study of natural science, about the year 1645, and said to be the oldest society of its kind in Europe, with the exception of the Lincean Academy in Rome, of which Galileo was a member. Sir Isaac Newton was one of the presidents of the society. The greater part of its collections have been transferred to the British Museum.
Royal Society Club. This club in London is said to have been founded about 1743 as the Club of Royal Philosophers, which name it bore until 1786. It was established " for the convenience of certain members [of the Royal Society] who lived in various parts, that they might assemble and dine together on the days when the Society held its evening meetings." Many distinguished persons have been guests of the club. Ward, in 1709, humorously refers to the "Virtuoso's Club " as first established by some of the principal members of the Royal Society, and says its chief design "was to propagate new whims, advance mechanical exercises, and to promote useless as well as useful experiments." The Royal Society Club has changed its place for dining several Times: in 1857 they removed to the Thatched House, where they remained until that tavern was taken down.
Royal Sovereign. An armor-plated ship of the British navy, launched March 8, 1801.
Rubens, The Two Sons of. A • picture of his two sons by Peter Paul Rubens (1577-1040), and considered one of his masterpieces. It is in the collection of Prince Lichtenstein at Vienna.
Rubicon, The. The ancient name of a little stream which divided Italy from Cisalpine Gaul. It is at the present time identified with the Uso. Julius Ciesar's passage of this stream in the year 4!) is "famous as being the initiative act of civil war; and from this circumstance to " pass the Rubicon'' became a proverb, signifying the entrance upon any undertaking from which there can be no retreat.
Now near the banks of Rubicon he stood;
»X5" "Csaaar paused upon the brink of the Rubicon. What was the Rubicon? The boundary of Csesar'B province. From what did it separate his province? From his country. Was that country a desert? No: it was cultivated and fertile; rich and populous! . . . What was Cajsar, that stood upon the brink of that stream? A traitor, bringing war and pestilence into the heart of that country! No wonder that ho paused! No wonder if, in his imagination, wrought upon by his conscience, he had beheld blood instead of water, and heard groanB instead of murmurs. No wonder if some Gorgon horror had turned him into stone upon the spot. But, no! he cried, 'The die is cast!" Ho plunged! ho crossed! and Rome was free no more." J. S. KnoxoUt.
Alas! whv pass'd he, too. the Rubicon, —
Rue [Street]. For names beginning with Rue, see the next prominent word.
Rufus's Oak. See Rorcs's Stone. Rufus's Stone (and Oak). A trian
fular stone erected in the New 'orest, near Southampton, England, on the spot where formerly stood the famous oak, on which, according to the inscription, "an arrow shot by Sir Walter Tyrrel at a stag, glanced and struck King William II., named Bufus, in the breast, of which he instantly died, on the 2d of August, A.D. 1100." The spot is visited by great numbers of people every year.
O'er the New Forest's heath-hills bare,
A pilgrim wandered, questing where
Sorao monurrent h<» found, which spoke
But for that old avenging uak,
Rugby. A famous school in the town of the same name in the county of Warwick, England. It is noted as the scene of Dr. Arnold's life and labors. The school was founded in the reign of Elizabeth, and has line cloistered buildings.
Ruhmcshalle, Die Baierische. See Hall Of Fame.
Rump Steak, or Liberty Club. This political club, in opposition to Sir Robert Walpole, was in existence in 1733-4. See BeefSteak Society [club].
Russell Square. A well-known public square in London, upon the site of the old palace of the Dukes of Bedford.
Rutgers College. A collegiate establishment in New Brunswick, N.J. It was founded in 1770.
Ruth and Naomi. A picture by Ary Scheffer (1795-1858).
RuthweU Cross. A remarkable Bunic monument in the parish of Ruthwell, near Dumfries, Scotland. It is a stone cross, bearing
an inscription in Bunic and in Latin characters. This stone is said to have been broken in two in the last century by direction of the General Assembly, as being an object of superstitious veneration, and to have been afterwards put together.
Rutland House. A noble mansion which formerly stood in Charterhouse Square, London.
Rydal Mount. The picturesque and celebrated residence of the poet Wordsworth, standing on the projection of a hill near the little village of Rydal, near Ambleside, in the "Lake District" of England. Wordsworth's dwelling commanded a fine view, embracing the lake of Rydal and a part of Windermere. The poet is sometimes called the "Bard of Rydal Mount."
£af- " A lovely cottage-like building, almost bidden by a profusion of roses and ivy." Mrt. Ifemanl.
Tills day without its record may not pass. In which I first have seen the lowlv roof That shelters Wordsworth's age.
Fitting place I found Blest with rare beauty, set in deepest
calm; Looking upon still waters, whose expanse Might tranquillize all thought, and bordered round By mountains. Hairy Afford.
Of him whose whitened locks on Jtylul
Mount Are lifted yet by morning breezes blowing From the green hills, immortal in his lavi.
Rye House. A frequent resort of anglers from London, and the, scene, according to some authorities, of the celebrated alleged conspiracy of 1683, known as the Bye House Plot. It is situated between London and Newmarket.- By other authorities the scene of the plot is referred to an ancient mansion, called the Rye House, in the parish of Stansteau, Hertfordshire.
Ryknield St. See Fosse, The.