« السابقةمتابعة »
nounce the descent from a set of Mr. URBAN,
Oct. 2. happy thoughtless sinners of the ear
appearances were noticed at Several respectable families seem Dudley, in the evening of Sunday the to have originated with foundlings, 24th of September. and their names may possibly point The Sun having just descended in a out the places where they were ex- gorgeous robe of empurpled glory, a posed. Among these are Townsend, dark deuse cloud appeared motionless Lane, _Street, Churchyard, Court, for some time in the South-west. At Stair, Barn, Stables, Grange, Orchard, Jast the upper portion of it broke into &c.
long narrow stripes ; which, moving Bastards have not only their birth in the wind's direction, were slowly indicated by the surnames, but also followed by similar ones, till the whole the degree, ravk, or station of their hemisphere was covered with them, parents, thus, Misson, Goodyson, Mol- as regular in line, extending from the Tyson, Anson, Jennison, Bettison, and Northero to the Southern verge of the Nelson, were called after their mo- horizon, and as equi distant from each ther's name, those of their fathers other, as the furrowsin a well-ploughed being unknown. But Misson, and field ; resembling, moreover, both in Goodison, were visibly the produce Justre and form, the stripes which of faux-pas of Miss, and of Goody ; adorn a mackarel fresh drawn from whereas, Jenni-son, Nel-son, Bet-son, its native element. Never, in a single &c. were the slips of dairy and milk instance, varying their distance from maids, or other girls in low stations. each other, they proceeded, with an The like distinction may be traced in easy simultaneous flow, towards the illegitimates, whose fathers were un- North-east, till the cloud which supkdown. Masterson and Stewardson, plied them became exhausted : when shew the children of the Master and ihey assumed a totally different figure, Steward, while Jackson, Thompson, resembling the chequered squares of and Wilson, were the misbegotten a chess-board. With these, as before offspring of hinds, servants and la- it had been with the parallel lines, the bourers. Surnames sometimes help whole face of heaven was covered : us to guess at the place where the when “the Moon, in mellow glory heads of particular families were rising," peeped above the hills, as if born ; probably the name of Perry to admire the grand and novel specwas given to some pleasant, brisk, tacle. As she attained altitude, the Worcestershire lad, and that of Per- small nebulous masses, losing their kin, to one of a like description, born late regularity of form and richness in one of the cyder counties, of a of colour, assumed a fleecy whiteness, weaker frame of body.
appearing (as Bloomfield beautifully It seems difficult to account for expresses il)" like flocks at rest” on some extraordinary names; many of a boundless plain. them are probably compiled from fo- Such a spectacle, at such a time, reign ones. Such as Bomgarson, Hig- when one of the finest barvests ever geobottom, and divers others. The koown bad 6 filled our hearts with first is the German name for a tree- food and gladness," could not fail to garden, that is, an orchard, and the lead the mind to that heavenly Sheplatter signifying in the same tongue herd, who, regarding the wanis of all (Icken-baum) an oak tree.
his creatures, openeth his hand, and In process of time, when men be. filleth all things living with plenteous. gan to attach themselves to parti.
B. cular callings, professions, and trades, they likewise began from them to apply surnames of Smith, Butcher,
CURIOSO says, he has lately been inBaker, &c. &c. in the manuer still formed, that the house at Paris in which
Voltaire formerly resided is shut up, and practised in large public houses, where
has not been opened since his death, pur. we may daily hear
suant to his Will, and that it was not to by the additions of their offices, as be opened until the year 1820. Our Cor. John Ostler! Betty Chambermaid ! respondent then inquires if this is really Jenny Cook! Will Drawer! and Sam the case ? Boots !
Sept. I. and the consequent breaking-down of THE accompanying drawings will, the great mind of her affectionate
husband, are fresh in the recollecyour Readers (see Plate I.)
tion of your Readers *. She and Sir The first exhibits a view of the Samuel were both buried in Koill venerable remains of Dryburgh Ab- Church, which is seen in the View. beg, in Berwickshire, on the banks The original drawing from which this of the Tweed, about 24 miles from is copied was taken in company with Edinburgh. This Abbey was found- Lady Romilly in 1794. ed by King David I. Its fine ruins The Parish of Knill, in the Huodred are the property of the Earl of Bu- of Wigmore, and county of Herechan (the father of British Anti- ford, is situated on the very borders quarius), whose elegant villa, called of Herefordshire, adjoining RadnorDryburgh Abbey, is in its immediate shire: it is two miles and a quarter Neighbourhood, as seen in the view. from Kington, four miles from Pres:
The second is a view of Knill Court feigne, 'and about twenty from the (with a prospect of the vale of Rad- Couplý-town. It is a discharged Recnor), the seat of the family of Wal- tory, valued in the King's Books at shani, now of Colonel Walsbau Gar. 41. 10s. The Patron is Col. Garbett. bett, the late Lady Romilly's brother. The Church is dedicated to St. MiLady Romilly and her sisters were chael. The Resident Population in born here, and resided here some 1801, was 72.
J. W. years with their falher, Francis Gara bett, esq. Lady Romilly was the eld- * See vul. LXXXVIII. part ii. pp. 465, est daughter; whose lamented death, 466. 633.,
COMPENDIUM OF COUNTY HISTORY.
OXFORDSHIRE. (Continued from p. 216.)
COLLEGES AND HALLS, continued.
Winchester, as a Hall, in 1448 ; and converted into a College in 1457. The great tower of beautiful Gothic architecture, was built in 1492. Of the new quadrangle, one side only is finished. It was built in 1733, from a design of Holdsworth, author of " Muscipulæ," and is 300 feet long. The Chapel is very elegant : the windows of painted glass: over the altar is a beautiful painting of “ Our Saviour bearing his Cross," by Moralez; and “ The Last Judgment,” by Fuller, praised by Addison. In the court is a series of hyeroglyphics sculptured in stone. The great oak al the entrance of the water-walk, noticed by Evelyn, fell June 27, 1789. It was more than 600 years old, and its cubic contents 754 feet. Magdalen was visited by Edward IV. in 1481; Richard III. in 1483; Arthur, Prince of Wales, in 1496 and 1501 ; Henry, Prince of Wales, matriculated here in 1605; and Fairfax and Cromwell, who dined here and frere created Doctors of Civil Law in 1649.- Of this College, Prelates, CARDINAL Pole of Canterbury ; Bolton of Armagh ; CARDINAL Wolsey, Lee, and Frewen of York ; Cooper of Winchester ; Longland of Lincolo ; Warner of Rochester; Nicholson of Gloucester ; LATIMER, and Hough of Worcester (who, whilst President, maufully vindicated the privileges of the Fellows against James 11.); Mayhew. of Hereford; Borne of Norwich ; and Hopkins of Derry. Statesmen, Sir Francis. Knollys; and John and George Digby, Earls of Bristol
. Clussical Scholars, Waltón Haddod; and Field Dean of Gloucester. Benefactors to Learning, Sir THOMAS BODLEY; and Dean Colet. Divines, Roper ; Lawrence Humphrey (buried in the chapel, 1590); Pierce, and HAMMOND. Martyrologist, Fox. Cosmographer, Heylin. Lexicographer, Coles. Granimarians, LILY ;' and Robertson. Philologist, Chilmead. Diplomatist, Sir Thomas Roe. Dramatist, Sir Robert Howard. Parliamentarian, HAMPDEN. Physicians, Wotton; and LINACRE. Astrologer, Forman. Traveller and Biographer, Dr. Thomas Smith. Historian, GIBBON. Poels, Wither ; Addison (who wrote Gent. Mag. October, 1820,
his Cató whilst a scholar here); COLLINS; Yalden, Holdsworth, and Hurdis. Tory, SACHEVERELL. Nonconfornist, Gale.
MERTON COLLEGE, the oldest College in Oxford, derives its name from Walter de Merton, Bp. of Rochester and Chancellor of England, who founded it in 1264. It has three courts, the principal of which is 110 feet by 100. The Library, the most antient in the Kingdom, was fouoded by Rede, Bp. of Chichester, in 1376. In the Chapel is a beautiful cross commemorative of John Bloxham and John Whytton, warden and benefactor. The windows are richly.painted; the East window is very handsonie. Over the altar is “ The Crucifixion,” by Tintoret. The first common room in the University was fitted up here in 1661. Merton was the temporary abode of Catharide of Arragon in 1518; Elizabeth in 1592; Henrietta-Maria in 1644 ; and Alexander Emperor of Russia, and his sister the Duchess of Oldenburgh, afterwards Queen of Wurtenburgh, in 1814.–Of this College, Reformer, WickLIFFE. Prelutes, Bradwardin, “ Doctor profundus," and I slip of Canterbury; Fitz-James of London : WAYNFleet of Winchester ; Rede, Bickley, and Carleton, of Chichester ; Rodburne of St. David's (who built the tower and gateway here); Hooper of Gloucester ; JEWELL and John Earle (author of
Micro-Cosmography,” buried in the Chapel, 1665) of Salisbury; Reynolds of Norwich ; and Huntingdon of Raphoe. Schoolmen, Duns Scotus, " Doctor Subtilis ;” and William Occam, “Doctor Inviocibilis.” Scholars, Drusius ; Sir Henry Savile (cenotaph in the chapel, died 1622); and Parnaby. Geomelricians and Astronomers, Henry Briggs, first Savilian Professor (monument in the chapel, 1630), and Bainbridge. Benefactor to Learning, Sir Thomas Bodley (buried here in 1613, his monument by Nicholas Stone, cost 2001.) Diplomatist, Sir Isaac Wake. Parliamentarian General, Robert Devereux, Earl of Essex. Antiquary and Biographer, ANTHONY Wood (buried in the chapel, 1695); Orientalist, Samuel Clarke, the first Archytypographer of the University. Lawyer, Sir Nathaniel Brent. Roman Catholic, Cressy: Poets, Grimoald ; and Heywood. Essayist, Sir RICHARD STEELE. Physicians, Chamber ; Owen; HARVEY, discoverer of the circulation of the blood; Goulston, founder of the Goulstonian Lecture ; and Dickenson. Critic, Tyrwhitt. Numismatist, Rudivg.
New College was founded by William of Wykeham, Bp. of Winchester, in 1379-80, by the name of " Seinte Marie College of Wynchestre io Oxenford," but its familiar appellation of New College has been ever since retained, although it is the oldest college in the University as to its principal buildings, and the seventh in the order of foundation. Quadraogle 168 feet by 129. The Chapel is the inost magnificent in Oxford. Cloisters 106 feet by 105. Anti-chapel 80 feet by 36. Choir 100 by 35. The windows are of painted glass. To the great West window is “ The Nativity,” below which are “ The Seven Cardinal Virtues," executed by Jervais from cartoons by Sir Joshua Reynolds. Here is preserved the superb crosier of the founder, silver-gilt.
The Hall is 78 seet by 35. The Garden-court was finished in 1684.-Of this · College, Prelates, Cnichelu and WARHAM of Canterbury; Thomas de Cran
ley of Dublin (buried in the chapel, 1417); Lowth of London; Bilson of Winchester ; Russel of Lincolo, the first perpetual Chancellor of the University ; Sherborn of Chichester ; Beckington, Lake, and Kenn (one of the Seven Bishops) of Bath and Wells; Bisse of Hereford ; Lavington of Exeter; Gunning, and Turner (one of the Seven Bishops) of Ely. - Statesnien, Sir Henry Sydney ; and William Fieonės, Lord Say and Sele. Lawyers, Chief Justice Sir Edward Herbert; and Wood, author of “ Institutes.” Civilians, Sir Henry Martin ; Sir Thomas Ryves; and Dr. Zouch. Marlyr, Philpot. Mathematician, Lydiat. Antiquary, Talbot. Biogruphers, Pilts, and Oldys. Epigrammatists, Bastard ; and Owen. Learned Printer, Fowler. Physicians, Baley; and Musgrave. Roman Catholics, Harding ; Saunders; and Stapleton. Scholars, Grocyn; James Bond, first Librarian of the Bodleian ; and Holmes. Poets, Turberville; Herbert Earl of Pembroke; Sir Henry Wotton; Somervile; and Pitt. Translator, Dr. William Smith. Political Writer, Bruno Ryves, Dean of Windsor. Miscellaneous Writers, Spence; Dr. Gloster Ridley, and his son James.