« السابقةمتابعة »
all kinds of cattle, &c. as any in the county. There are also two fairs at Forest Row, in this parish, about three miles from the town, viz. June 25, and November 8; the latter is a large one for cattle, pedlary wares, &c. &c.
At the east end of the town is a large handsome stone, building, erected in the form of a square, called 'SACKVILLE COLLEGE, founded by James Sackyille, earl of Dorset, in the reign of James I. about the year 1616: he endowed it with 3301. a year. Here twenty-four aged persons of both sexes are accommodated each with a comfortable room, and an allowance of 8l. per annum to each person. This college is governed by a warden and two gentlemen assistants. The duke of Dorset has a suite of rooms in the college, but, as they are seldom occupied by his grace, the judges of the circuit are accommodated with them during the assizes. There is in this college a very neat chapel for the use of the pensioners, where the warden reads prayers every morning: this chapel was used for divine service while the parish church was rebuilding.
At East Grinstead is a charity school for twelve boys, founded by Robert and Edward Payne, Esgrs, in the year 1768, and endowed with a farm called Surries. The town is a great thoroughfare, being the direct post road from London to East Bourn, Lewes, and Brighthelmstone.
In the neighbourhood of East Grinstead are several mansions belonging to the nobility and gentry, particularly KIDBROOK, the seat of the right honourable Charles ABBOTT, speaker of the House of Commons.
Mount PLEASANT is honoured by having been the residence of the brave captain FARMER, of his majesty's ship Quebec. Being on a cruize off Ushant, in the beginning of October, 1779, in company with the Rambler cutter, he closely engaged a large French frigate called the Survillante, mounting forty guns; while the Rambler was engaged with a French culter, as superior in force as the French frigate was to the Quebec. The action on both sides was warm and bloody, from ten in the morning till two in the afternoon, when the French cutter set all the
sail she could crowd, and bore away; but the Rambler being much disabled in her masts and lrigging, could not follow her with any hopes of success. The commander, therefore, seeing both the frigates dismasted, and the Que. bec take fire, endeavoured to get as near the Quebec as possible, in hopes of saving some of her men; but no other assistance could be afforded them than by hoisting out the boat, which picked up one master's mate, two midshipmen, and fourteen more of the Quebec's people, the enemy's frigate at the same time firing at the boat. The Quebec continued burning very fiercely, with her co: lours flying till six o'clock, when she blew upWords cannot sufficiently display the gallantry and magnanimity of captain Farmer on this occasion, not only in the engagement, but the fatal catastrophe with which it was attended * Mrs. Farmer, who survived her brave husband three years, was allowed' a handsome pension from government, and her eldest son was created a baronet in ho. nour of his father, which he still enjoys.
This town gave birth to the ingenious THOMAS MAY, in 1595. He published a translation of Virgil's Georgics, and Lucan's Pharsalia; also à poem on the wars of Edward III. Having been refused by Charles I. the appoints ment of poet laureat, in his resentment, urged him to an inveteracy against the royalists during the Civil Wars; he was consequently appointed chief clerk to the parliament, and published the history of their proceedings, and Historiæ Parliamenti Angliæ Breviarium. The súbject of his last tribute to the Muses, was a poem on the life of Henry 11. Mr. May expired in his bed, of an apoplexy, on the 13th of November, 1650.
The situation of Easť Grinstead, and its surrounding hills, is extremely pleasant in summer; but the roads, ex. cepk merely the turnpike road, are extremely bad in the winter, so that a residence during that season of the year niust be very disagreeable.
* Lyttelton's Hist. of England, Vol. III. p. 383. Vol. V. No. 116.
The The country from this part of the county to Guildford, has nothing particularly attractive for the traveller, except bad roads and poor villages. The first of these is OKEWOOD, noted for a desolate chapel of ease for five parishes, built by Edward de la Hale, in 1431. The re. venues were 2001. per annum, out of which only twenty nobles were paid to the clergyman, who sometimes read prayers. This arose from the circumstance of its having been esteemed a chantry, though its founder had regularly endowed it as a chapel of ease to the adjoining parishes, the inhabitants of which lived at too great distance from their churches.
Ockley is rendered famous for the discomfiture of the Danes, who had landed in England from three hundred and fifty ships, and destroyed all the country from London to Canterbury. They were met at this place by Æthelwulph, son of king Egbert, who had been bishop of Winton; he destroyed them in battle, so that very few were able to relate their defeat to their companions: this happened A. D. 851.
Wotton is famous for having been the residence of the family of Evelyn; near which is White Down, in which have been found cockle shells, pyrites, &c.
At ALBURY, the great earl of Arundel formed a beautiful mansion ; it was purchased by Heneage Finch, ear] of Aylesford. It is now in the possession of Samuel Thornton, Esq. M.P. This parish is famous for the residence of the Rev. William OUGHTRED, a celebrated mathematician of the seventeenth century, who lived and died Rector. On BLACKHEATH, near Albury, have been found many remains of Roman buildings, and other antiquities.
Weston House, the seat of the late William Man Godschall, Esq. was purchased of the family of Duncumb, by Sir Robert Godschall, alderman and lord mayor of London in 1742.
ST. MARTHA UPON THE HILL, vulgarly called MARTYRS HILL, is so named from an antient chapel, part of which