« السابقةمتابعة »
slaves employed in the mines and agriculture did not exceed 150,000 '; and consequently that domestic labour, and the various employments of the city and ports of Athens, occupied five-eighths of the entire number of slaves.
1 Hyperid. ap. Suit), in aVti^i)0i(raro.
GlLliKHT & Rivinoton, Printers, St. John's Square, London.
P. 14.—On the plantation of»the Agora with Planes, tee Plutarch Cimon. 13, Polit. Prsecept. 24.
P. 18, note 1, add.—Pausan. Attic. 29, 16.
P. 30, note 5, add.—Pausan. Attic. 33, 6.
P. 46.—Among the works of art for which Athens was renowned, and which were such as Pausanias (we may presume) would have noticed had they remained until his time, may be mentioned the heifer in brass by Myron, an Iacchus in marble (Cicero Verrin. Act. 2. 4, 60,) the mares in brass by Cimon, in memory of those which had gained for him a victory at Olympia (^Elian. Var. Hist. 9, 32,) a congregation of Satyrs by Lysippus (Plin. 34, 8. (19, § 6), and the painting of a flute-player dedicated by Thrasippus (Aristot. Polit. 8, 6).
P. 60.—Concerning Dionysius the first bishop of Athens, see J. Malala (Chronog. p. 106,) and on the early Athenian church, Meursius de fortuna Athenarum 9.
P. 87, line 14.—In support of the opinion, that the demolition of the temple of Victory is to be attributed to the
fire of the Venetian batteries, the following considerations may be adduced: 1. The temple, (as already observed in p. 87), was a powder-magazine no more than eleven years before the siege, and nothing was seen of it after the siege: 2. The first of the two explosions mentioned in the "Journal of the Venetian Campaigne,'1 evidently happened when the fire of the Venetian batteries was directed principally upon the western front of the Acropolis. On the other hand it is argued that the recent discovery which has been made of the columns and epistylia of the temple, as well as of its foundation, in removing the upper Turkish battery, has not shown any marks of fire upon the marbles. Hence it is supposed that about the year 1685, when the Venetians began to make Greece the chief seat of their war with Turkey, the temple was taken down, in order to make room for the battery which was then erected, the materials of the temple having served in the construction of the battery (Acropolis von Athen. p. 3). But we see no marks of fire on the Parthenon: and it seems very unlikely, supposing this battery to have been erected prior to the siege, that it should have been left uninjured after the siege, when Morosini not only carried away all the guns of the Acropolis, but destroyed its defences. Less than this can scarcely have been intended by the " Maurocenus post eversas funditus Athena* Euboeam ire pergit" of Graziani, (p. 340) or the "ut Athense diruerentur denique placuit" of Arrighi (p. 353.)
The Erechtheium, although it became in its turn a powder magazine, escaped from the casualties of 140 years with little damage: for in 1729 all the Caryatides of the southern portico still remained, if we may trust to a drawing of the younger Fourmont in the Royal Library of Paris. Between that time and the year 1751 one of them had fallen: a recent excavation has led to its discovery very near its original position. In 1802 another of the Caryatides was removed by Lord Elgin. In 1823 the Greek insurrection again placed the buildings of Athens in imminent danger, and in the course of this war the Erechtheium has suffered more than any other of the Athenian edifices. The bombardment of 1827 caused the fall of three columns with the ceiling of the northern portico of the Erechtheium, and of a part of the western wall with two of its semi-columns. In 1832 the southern column of the eastern portico had fallen, and all the southern wall of the cella: no more than three of the Caryatides remained standing; no more than two of the engaged columns of the western wall, and three of the six columns of the northern portico, with that part of the roof which they support.— Note of 1839.
P. 97.—The benefits which have been derived from the society of Dilettanti, although not much acknowledged in England, have been duly appreciated in that country, which now takes the lead in archaeological science. Professor Kruse, of Halle, in his work entitled Hellas, when dividing into periods our modern acquisitions in the knowledge of Grecian arts and literature, has fixed the commencement of the last period at the establishment of the Dilettanti in the year 1734. He bears witness that by means of this society, not only the geography, topography, and monumental history of Greece have been greatly advanced, but that Grecian architecture may be said to have been discovered by it and made known to the world. In the year 1755, the society was mainly instrumental in establishing the Royal Academy.
P. Ill, note 4.—Pliny (35, 12 (45,) Photius and Suidas attest the derivation of the name of this place from its manufactory of pottery.
P. 114, line 1.—The statue of the mother of the gods by Phidias was undoubtedly the same, concerning which Pliny (36, 5 (4, § 3), says, "Est in matris magnte delubro in eadem civitate (Athenis) Agoracriti opus.'" In like manner the statue of the Rhamnusian Nemesis, the joint production of Phidias and his favourite scholar Agoracritus, was attri